15
Feb
10

Tales from a Minolta

As part of my first Photography Studio component at Art School, I needed to use a 35mm film single lens reflex camera.
It had been a while since I used a film camera, about 10 years, and that was a no-frills compact type. Since then I have used digital point and shoots, so getting back to film and using an SLR for the first time was a good deal of fun, though not without problems which I (think I) overcame when the time came to develop my first film.

After staring at Trademe for a few days, I eventually took the plunge and bought a second hand Minolta X-300S, which came with a Tokina  SZ-X 35-70mm 1:3.5-4.6 and  a Sunpak Softlite 1600A flash. After purchasing a 3-pack of Fuji-film 24 exposures, I got started on figuring out how it worked, testing aperture and shutter speeds.

There were a few errors; some under exposed, some over, but I think I got the hang of it by the time I finished the third roll. The main problem by then was having to remember to change the aperture, and not just the shutter speed. My memory, it is bad.

So, here are a few photos of the ones that turned out alright.

I am backdating this entry as a test, also as it happened pre-Art School.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
0 Responses to “Tales from a Minolta”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tweeted

surfed


