02
Jun
10

core studio 1 – sculpture

I have just finished sculpture, which was a lot of fun and where I learned quite a few skills.

On the first day as a group project we constructed a large skull from cardboard and newspaper. The following day we carved models from polystyrene blocks which we then buried in damp sand as part of an aluminium pour. I made (another) camera and with leftover time, a couple of cars.

The next week we visited the dump to buy objects to make into art, as part of a ‘found object’ exercise. After not being able to think of anything good, I spied a typewriter which I had an overwhelming desire to get, even though I had no idea what to do with it.
Some humming and hawing later, I decided to turn it into a musical machine; a kinetic sculpture. I configured it so as you were typing, the key hammers would hit xylophone keys on the way through to the paper. This enabled it to keep it’s original function whilst having a completely new one.

I also learned to weld for the first time, which turned out to be a lot of fun, as well as using a band saw and table saw in the wood workshop.

0 Responses to “core studio 1 – sculpture”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tweeted

surfed


